Perovskites hybrides

The Project Group “Perovskite” aims at developing novel perovskite optoelectronic devices in which light-matter interaction mechanisms are engineered in the subwavelength scale. This is achieved by patterning the perovskite material into metasurface structures. Functionalities and physical properties of perovskite devices will be implemented/enhanced by exploring innovative photonics concepts such as photon management, exciton-photon strong coupling regime, dispersion engineering.

Context and Approach

Starting with the “perovskite fever” in 2013 in the field of photovoltaics, hybrid organic-inorganic perovskite materials have now become a key player in applications for optoelectronics, including solar cell, light emitting diode, laser and sensing. The Project Group “Perovskite” aims at developing novel perovskite optoelectronic devices in which light-matter interaction mechanisms are engineered in the subwavelength scale. This is achieved by patterning the perovskite material into metasurface structures. Functionalities and physical properties of perovskite devices will be implemented/enhanced by exploring innovative photonics concepts such as photon management, dispersion engineering, polaritonic physics at room temperature.

Research topics

Nanophotonic concepts for perovskite solarcells

Perovskite has now become an alternative solution for silicon technology in the field of photovoltaics. Our distinctive approach is to implement nanophotonic concepts for boosting perovskite solar cell performance, while keeping its low-cost and solution-based fabrication process (see Fig.1). Different photon management strategies (light-trapping, photon recycling, up-conversion) are combined to enhance energy conversion efficiency of single junction perovskite solar cell and tandem perovskite-silicon solar cell.

Nano impression sur perovskite pour application photovoltaïque

Fig.1. (a) Sketch nano-imprint process to pattern perovskite. (b) Scanning Electronic Microscope (SEM) image of perovskite metasurface. (c) SEM image (side view) of perovskite solarcell with patterned perovskite for light-trapping and photon recycling.

Perovskite-based polaritonic devices

Exciton-polaritons are quasiparticles arising from the strong coupling regime between excitons in semiconductor and photons of resonant cavity. Polaritonic devices, inherited the best features of excitonic and photonic components, is a prominent platform to study fundamental physics of interacting bosons, as well as novel all-optical devices. Our original approach is to elaborate polaritons at room temperature by coupling perovskite excitons and Bloch photons of perovskite periodical metasurface (see Fig.2.a). Polaritonic properties (effective mass, group velocity, density of states …) are tailored on-demand via energy-momentum dispersion engineering (Fig.2.b,c).

Métasurface excitonique à base de pérovskite

Fig.2. (a) Perovskite-based excitonic metasurface of subwavelength pillar lattice. (b) Angle-resolved reflectivity (left panel) and photoluminescence (right panel) of perovskite metasurface. Different polaritonic modes are clearly observed. (c) Comparison between experimental and theoretical band diagram of polaritonic modes in perovskite metasurface.

Perovskite-based emitting devices

As direct band-gap semiconductor, perovskite material exhibit remarkable optical properties for emitting devices, such as tunable bandgap across the visible range, high luminescence quantum yield and narrow emission linewidth. In this topic, we study different original mechanisms to control the far-field emission of perovskite-based light emitting diodes and micro-lasers (Figs.3): coupling perovskite quantum dots to photonic exceptional points, filtering perovskite random lasing via vertical cavity, coupling perovskite thin-film to Bloch resonances…

Boite quantique perovskite

Fig.3. Farfield emission of perovskite quantum dots when coupled to photonic exceptional points.

Projects

Group members

  • Coordinator: Hai Son Nguyen
  • Permanent: Christian Seassal, Erwann Fourmond, Emmanuel Drouard, Céline Chevallie
  • PhD :  Florian Berry, Nguyen Ha My Dang, Raphael Mermet Lyaudoz
INL CNRS
Nanoimprint sur couche de perovskite.
/* */ //

Pérovskites hybrides

Le groupe de projet "Pérovskite" vise à développer de nouveaux dispositifs optoélectroniques à base de pérovskite, dans lesquels les mécanismes d'interaction lumière-matière sont manipulés à l'échelle des sous-longueurs d'onde. Ceci est réalisé en structurant le matériau pérovskite en métasurfaces. Les fonctionnalités et les propriétés physiques des dispositifs pérovskites seront mises en œuvre et/ou améliorées par l'exploration de concepts photoniques innovants tels que la gestion des photons, le régime de couplage fort exciton-photon, l'ingénierie de la dispersion.

Depuis 2013, les matériaux hybrides organique-inorganique à base de pérovskite sont devenus un acteur clé dans les applications de l’optoélectronique, notamment les cellules photovoltaïques, les diodes électroluminescentes, les lasers et les capteurs. Le groupe de projet “Pérovskite” vise à développer de nouveaux dispositifs optoélectroniques à base de pérovskite, dans lesquels les mécanismes d’interaction lumière-matière sont manipulés à l’échelle des sous-longueurs d’onde. Ceci est réalisé en structurant le matériau pérovskite en métasurfaces. Les fonctionnalités et les propriétés physiques des dispositifs pérovskites sont mises en œuvre et/ou améliorées par l’exploration de concepts photoniques innovants tels que la gestion des photons, le régime de couplage fort exciton-photon, l’ingénierie de la dispersion.

Thèmes de recherche

Concepts nanophotoniques pour les cellules solaires pérovskites

La pérovskite est devenue une solution alternative prometteuse dans le domaine du photovoltaïque. Notre approche distinctive est de mettre en œuvre des concepts nanophotoniques pour augmenter les performances des cellules solaires pérovskites, tout en conservant son procédé de fabrication à faible coût et en grande surface (voir Fig.1). Différentes stratégies de gestion des photons (piégeage de la lumière, recyclage des photons, up-conversion) sont combinées pour améliorer le rendement de conversion énergétique des cellules solaires pérovskites à jonction simple et des cellules solaires pérovskites-silicium en tandem.

Nano impression sur perovskite pour application photovoltaïque

a) Procédé de nano-impressions pour structurer la pérovskite. (b) Image au microscope électronique à balayage (MEB) d’une métasurface de pérovskite. (c) Image MEB (vue de côté) d’une cellule solaire de pérovskite dont le matériau active est structurer pour le piégeage de la lumière et le recyclage des photons.

Dispositifs polaritoniques à base de pérovskite

Les excitons-polaritons sont des quasiparticules issues du régime de couplage fort entre les excitons de semiconducteur et les photons de cavités résonantes. Les dispositifs polaritoniques, ayant hérité des meilleures caractéristiques des composants excitoniques et photoniques, sont une plate-forme prometteuse pour étudier la physique fondamentale des bosons en interaction, ainsi que de nouveaux dispositifs tout-optiques. Notre approche originale est d’élaborer des polaritons à température ambiante en couplant les excitons de la pérovskite et les photons de Bloch des métasurfaces périodiques (voir Fig.2.a). En particulier, les propriétés polaritoniques (masse effective, vitesse de groupe, densité d’états …) sont adaptées à la demande par l’ingénierie de dispersion énergie-moment (Fig.2.b,c).

Métasurface excitonique à base de pérovskite

(a) Métasurface excitonique à base de pérovskite. b) Réflectivité (panneau de gauche) et photoluminescence (panneau de droite) résolue en angle d’une métasurface de pérovskite, montrant différents modes polaritoniques. c) Comparaison entre le diagramme de bande expérimental et théorique des modes polaritoniques d’une métasurface de pérovskite.

Dispositifs d’émission basés sur la pérovskite

En tant que semi-conducteur à bande interdite directe, la pérovskite présente des propriétés optiques remarquables pour les dispositifs émetteurs : une bande interdite accordable dans le domaine visible, un rendement quantique de luminescence élevé et une largeur de raie d’émission étroite. Dans ce thème, nous étudions différents mécanismes originaux pour contrôler l’émission en champ lointain des diodes électroluminescentes et des micro-lasers à base de pérovskite (Figs.3) : couplage des boîtes quantiques de pérovskite à des points exceptionnels photoniques, filtrage de l’effet laser aléatoire de pérovskite par cavité verticale, couplage des couches minces de pérovskite à des résonances de Bloch.

Boite quantique perovskite

Émission en champ lointain de boîtes quantiques de pérovskite lorsqu’ils sont couplés à des points exceptionnels photoniques.

Projets

Membres du groupe

  • Coordinateur : Hai Son Nguyen
  • Permanents : Christian Seassal, Erwann Fourmond, Emmanuel Drouard, Céline Chevallie
  • Doctorants :  Florian Berry, Nguyen Ha My Dang, Raphael Mermet Lyaudoz
INL CNRS
Nanoimprint sur couche de perovskite.