Functional Materials and Nanostructures

Head of the group:

Nicolas CHAUVIN
Romain BACHELET (Adj.)

Team “Functional Materials and Nanostructures”

The new “Materials” team was born from the fusion of the “Heteroepitaxy and Nanostructures – H&N” and “Spectroscopy and Nanomaterials – S&N” teams. The strength of the team is based on its specific and recognized expertise in the field of monolithic and heterogeneous integration of functional materials on silicon and in advanced structural, optical and electronic characterization methods to probe the properties of complex heterostructures or single nanostructures.

The team’s objective is to conduct multidisciplinary research activities covering the development of materials and their growth mechanisms, the understanding and optimization of their functional properties, as well as the validation of these researches by the fabrication of basic bricks and proofs of concepts.

Two families of materials are investigated, III-V semiconductors and functional oxides, with two key areas of application: i) ICT focusing on photonic, optoelectronic and microelectronic devices, and ii) Energy/Environment by studying energy harvesting, photoelectrolysis and photovoltaics.

 

The team focuses more specifically on three research activities:

 

The team also manages the epitaxial growth facilities of the Nanolyon technology platform, in which it promotes its expertise in epitaxy of heterostructures by MBE (oxides and III-V in particular).

 

Publications of the team on HAL

Highlights

Crystallization of SrTiO3 on Si: the knitting machine

Energy Efficient Embedded Non-Volatile Memory & Logic Based on Ferroelectric Hf(Zr)O2

Growth of GaAs/AlGaAs nanowires for tandem solar cells on silicon

Huge gain in pyroelectric energy conversion through epitaxy for integrated self-powered nanodevices

La “maîtrise du ballon de football” … à l’échelle microscopique

Perovskite-oxide based hyperbolic metamaterials

Telecom-band single photon source monolithically grown on silicon

Deterministic placement of quantum defects in arrays of 4H-SiC micropillars

Materiaux Fonctionnels et Nanostructures 

Responsable(s) d'équipe :

Nicolas CHAUVIN
Romain BACHELET (Adj.)

Equipe « Matériaux Fonctionnels et Nanostructures »

L’équipe « Matériaux » est issue de de la fusion des équipes « Hétéroépitaxie et Nanostructures – H&N » et « Spectroscopie et Nanomatériaux – S&N ». La force de cette équipe repose sur son expertise spécifique et reconnue dans le domaine de l’intégration monolithique hétérogène de matériaux fonctionnels sur silicium et dans les méthodes de caractérisation structurale, optique et électronique avancées permettant de sonder les propriétés d’hétérostructures complexes ou de nanostructures individuelles.

L’équipe a pour objectif de mener des activités de recherche multidisciplinaires couvrant l’élaboration des matériaux et leurs mécanismes de croissance, la compréhension et l’optimisation de leurs propriétés fonctionnelles, ainsi que la validation de ces recherches amonts par la fabrication de composants démonstrateurs et la réalisation de preuves de concepts.

Deux familles de matériaux sont principalement ciblées, les semiconducteurs III-V et les oxydes fonctionnels, avec deux domaines d’applications clefs de l’INL : i) les STIC en visant des dispositifs photoniques, optoélectroniques et microélectroniques, et ii) l’Energie/Environnement en visant la récupération d’énergie, la photoélectrolyse et le photovoltaïque.

 

Nos activités sont réparties en trois axes de recherche:

 

L’équipe gère également le pôle « épitaxie » de la plateforme technologique Nanolyon au sein duquel elle valorise son savoir-faire d’épitaxie d’hétérostructures par MBE (oxydes et III-V notamment).

 

Publications de l’équipe sur HAL

Faits Marquants

Croissance de nano-sapins et bambous de ZnO dopé par dopage au Gallium

Crystallization of SrTiO3 on Si: the knitting machine

La « maîtrise du ballon de football »…à l’échelle microscopique

Localisation de centres colorés dans des micro-piliers de SiC 4H

Métamatériaux Hyperboliques à base d’oxydes de perovskites

Nanofils GaAs/AlGaAs pour cellules solaires tandem sur silicium

Mémoire et logique non-volatiles embarquées basées sur des circuits ferroélectriques

Source de photons uniques télécom épitaxiée monolithiquement sur silicium